Laundry Detergent

I make my own laundry detergent, which I use for everything except cloth diapers (because Borax is an ingredient — cloth diapers and Borax do not mix well). I thought I’d share my recipe with you.

This recipe was given to me by a family friend. I have not had any issues with it so far, and it lasts for a long time. The last batch (prior to the most recent one I made two weeks ago) I made was sometime in early summer. I don’t remember the exact time, just that it was before we moved into our current house, and that was in June. So that means one batch of this detergent, for my family of 4, lasted for about 6 months.

I know some of you are thinking it lasted that long because it was used infrequently, but no! Most weeks, I did 3-4 loads per week (sometimes more, sometimes less) so it’s a good amount of detergent, and you only need 1-2 Tbsp per load — depending on how dirty they are.

Materials I Used:

  • 2 gallon bucket with lid (long term storage container)
  • smaller air-tight container (for daily use — the lid on the bucket is hard to get off so I didn’t want to struggle taking it on and off every day)
  • large spoon for stirring (I used a slotted spoon with a long handle, the kind used while cooking meals)
  • Blendtec blender (the blender either needs to be a high-end blender with good-quality blades OR you can substitute a hand grater with a blender)

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Borax
  • 1 box Super Washing Soda
  • 1 bar Zote (I actually used a bar of castile soap that I already had)
  • 1 box powdered Tide detergent (gives it a nice smell and a little extra oomph)
  • 4 lbs epsom salt

Steps:

  1. Use high-powered blender (or hand grater) to turn the Zote bar into powder (or in the case of grating it by hand, into shreds). Important Note: Be sure to allow time for the dust to settle before removing the lid of the blender. I did this inside my home in the winter and neglected to wait before removing the lid. I ended up breathing in a bar of soap for a while, and in order to finish making the detergent, I had to open all the windows in my kitchen and let the room air out.
  2. Pour the (now) powdered bar of soap into the 2 gallon container, and add the remaining ingredients. I suggest adding one ingredient at a time.
  3. Stir well. I used a large slotted spoon for this and I stirred every time I added a new ingredient. I think it makes it easier to get a well-mixed end product.
  4. Pour small amount into daily-use container, and leave the remaining amount in the 2 gallon storage bucket.

And that’s it! I now have laundry detergent that should last my family at least 4 months, but probably longer.

header-image

Leave a Reply

