BabySteps Day 13

Welcome back to another post in my journey through FlyLady’s BabySteps! Yesterday I was on Day 13 of the BabySteps. I’m going to be perfectly honest; I slacked off yesterday. It was one of those days when I had to drag myself out of bed in the morning, and once I did get out of bed, I didn’t go straight into my Morning Routine.

Don’t get me wrong. I wasn’t relaxing during that time; I was sorting and going through our cloth diaper stash to figure out which ones I wanted to keep and which ones I wanted to get rid of. (But I can write another post about that later.) Still, I didn’t hop into my Morning Routine until after getting the kids up, dressed and fed.

If you’re not up to date on what I’ve done so far in the BabySteps, you can read about that here. After that, on to discussing Day 13.

My Morning Routine — once I got to it — consisted of the following (please note that I rearranged the order slightly to make the routine flow better).

Morning Routine

  • Get up and get dressed to shoes
  • Look at my posted reminders in the kitchen and bathroom
  • Recognize the negative voices and make them positive (I guess I sort of failed on that one today because I gave in to not starting my routine right away)
  • Put out my HotSpot for 2 minutes
  • 5 Minute Room Rescue (see pics below)
  • Spend 15 minutes decluttering
  • Look at my Control Journal
  • Read my FlyLady Morning Message

(Notice I moved the email-reading task to the bottom. I prefer to get all of my stuff done first and then read the emails when I’m done and relaxing for a few minutes.)

Here’s the photo update on the Room Rescue project:

I’m really very amazed at how much I can get done in 5 minute increments. It doesn’t seem like much time, but after only 5 days of doing 5 minutes at a time, I see significant progress.

The new task for the day (not really sure if it was meant to be added to the Morning Routine or just at some point during the day) was to look up the FlyLady Mission for the day and complete it. These are available on her website in the Launch Pad section, or in her daily emails.

FlyLady divides the home into 5 zones, which are rotated throughout the month, with each zone lasting for about a week (first and last zones, can be shorter depending on where the dates fall for the month). The current zone for this week is the bathroom and laundry room, which lo and behold, I’m already working on for my 5 Minute Room Rescue.

So, the Mission for Wednesday was to go into the bathroom and toss out all of the cosmetics that are out of date or out of fashion (like I know what’s in fashion, ha!). Then for the laundry room, the task was to match up all the socks that don’t have a mate and to throw away ones that haven’t had a mate for a while.

Both of those were very simple, short tasks that took less than 5 minutes. Boom, Bam, done!

My After Dinner Routine was the same as it has been:

  • Keep shining my sink
  • Lay out my clothes for tomorrow
  • Put out a HotSpot for 2 minutes
  • Look at my Control Journal checklists

I’m moving right along! Almost halfway through the FlyLady BabySteps, and loving the progress I’m seeing. Stop back tomorrow for a peek at my progress through Day 14.

header-image

Leave a Reply

