BabySteps Day 12

Greetings to you all! Thank you for taking the time to peruse my blog. If you’re here, that means you’re interested in finding out more about how I’m doing in my journey through the FlyLady BabySteps, so I’ll get on with it.

It’s Wednesday, and yesterday I was on Day 12 of the FlyLady’s BabySteps. The routines I have been developing prior to Day 12 were as follows:

Morning Routine

  • Get up and get dressed to shoes, including hair and makeup
  • Look at my posted reminders in the kitchen and bathroom
  • Read my FlyLady Morning Message
  • Recognize the negative voices and make them positive
  • Put out a Hot Spot for 2 minutes
  • Do a 5 Minute Room Rescue
  • Spend 15 minutes decluttering

Evening Routine

  • Keep shining my sink
  • Lay out my clothes for tomorrow
  • Put out a Hot Spot for 2 minutes

Here’s a peek at how my laundry room 5 Minute Room Rescue is going.

Looking better, right? I think so. I will continue to keep you updated on this, but for now, I want to share with you what the new tasks were for Day 12. (Yes, you read that right, there were actually two additions to the routines as listed on the FlyLady’s website.

The first change was that the Before Bed Routine mysteriously has a 4th item listed under it that wasn’t there on previous days. This new item says, “Keep the sticky notes up in your kitchen and bathroom to help remind you to look at your Control Journal.”

I was slightly confused when I read that and sifted back through the instructions from the previous days to see if I had missed adding that step, but I couldn’t find anywhere where it had told me to have reminders to look at my Control Journal. So I take that to mean I’m supposed to leave up my posted reminders (Shine your sink, Get dressed to shoes), but that in addition to looking at them to remind me to shine my sink and get dressed, I now need to use them to remind me to look at my Control Journal (which I’ve already been doing because my BabySteps instructions are printed and in the front of my Control Journal.

The second task (or perhaps more accurately, the intended task) for Day 12 was to go through my email inbox and delete the FlyLady messages. The intention behind this is that FlyLady sends 4-5 emails every day, each with a different purpose, and she wants people to feel that it’s ok to delete them when we need to.

I’ve actually been receiving her emails and deleting when necessary, so kudos to me for being on top of things (haha). I do have a few emails that I have saved into a dedicated email folder for FlyLady messages, only because they were things I wanted to remember in the future. But for the most part, I’m pretty good about reading the email when I get it, and deleting it when I’m done.

So, that’s it for Day 12! I’ll be back tomorrow with a post about Day 13. I hope you’ll be back too!

header-image

Leave a Reply

