BabySteps Day 10

Good morning to all my lovely readers! I’m here this morning to update you on the FlyLady’s BabySteps I have been working through. Yesterday I was on Day 10 of the BabySteps. If you’ve been following my progress, you know that each new day of the BabySteps adds onto what I’ve already done on the previous days. So here are the routines I had already built prior to Day 10.

Morning Routine

  • Get up and get dressed to shoes, including hair and makeup
  • Look at my posted reminders in the kitchen and bathroom
  • Read the FlyLady Morning message
  • Recognize the negative voices and make them positive
  • Put out a Hot Spot for 2 minutes
  • Do a 5 Minute Room Rescue

After Dinner Routine

  • Keep shining my sink
  • Lay out my clothes for tomorrow
  • Spend 2 minutes putting out a Hot Spot

After I completed all of my morning tasks, I stopped to take a picture so you could see the progress of the room I’ve chosen for my Room Rescue (which is my Laundry Room).

I will admit that Hubby helped me a bit during the second Room Rescue, but it’s encouraging to see some progress. I’m actually glad that I’ve been taking pictures because if I had spent those 10 minutes and then stopped to look at ALL that’s left, I might be tempted to feel like I haven’t made any progress at all, but looking at the pictures side-by-side really helps me to see that progress is being made.

To this Morning Routine, Day 10’s task was to add 15 minutes of decluttering. FlyLady’s instructions were to spend 15 minutes going through the house and throwing away the trash, but I didn’t quite do that. We’ve had a pile (piles, actually) of mail and other papers that needed to be sorted through, so I pulled the trash can over to the dining room table, dumped the stack on the table, sat down, and got to work sorting through the pile.

I divided the pile into a few separate piles. I had a pile of papers to be shredded, a pile of things to be filed, a pile of things that weren’t papers at all (the stack contained a notebook and gift bag too), and finally papers for the trash — which I threw straight into the trash can at my side.

The task took all of the allotted 15 minutes, but now there is one fewer pile cluttering up our home, so I am pleased.

All of those tasks made up my Morning Routine. There were no changes to my After Dinner Routine, but to remind you what that included, here’s my list:

That was it for yesterday. Today, I will continue on in Day 11 and report back to you tomorrow morning. So come back and see how I do!

header-image

Leave a Reply

